Professor Inoue (Graduate School of Law) appointed Jean Monnet Chair

  • October 1, 2019
  • Info
  • Keywords: International relations, Collaborations, Award


In September 2019, Professor Noriyuki Inoue (Graduate School of Law and President of EUIJ Kansai) was appointed Jean Monnet Chair. As part of the Jean Monnet program, a Jean Monnet Chair is a teaching post granted to university lecturers who specialize in European Union studies and research. Professor Inoue is the 8th Japanese person to hold this position, and he succeeds Professor Masahiko Yoshii (Executive Vice President in Charge of International Exchange) as the 3rd Chair from Kobe University. Professor Inoue will help cultivate researchers and strengthen EU studies during his 3-year tenure.

Kobe University has been continuously involved in promoting EU related education and academic research. In 2005, the EU Institute Kansai (EUIJ Kansai) was established by a consortium of 3 universities (Kobe University, Kwansei Gakuen University and Osaka University) with financial support from the European Commission. The Kobe University Brussels Office (KUBEC) was opened in 2010, then in 2011 The Center for EU Academic Collaboration was set up to strengthen academic and research collaboration with European universities and institutions, and continues to strive towards this aim. KUBEC is due to host ‘The 10th Anniversary Kobe University Brussels European Centre Symposium’ on October 22, 2019 to celebrate a decade since their founding. They are also running numerous personnel education programs to deepen EU-Japan ties, such as the Kobe University Programme for European Studies (KUPES).

In recognition of these achievements, Kobe University was selected in 2015 as the location for the only Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence in Japan. Jean Monnet was French diplomat who is known as ‘The father of Europe’ for his contribution towards the founding of European Union’s preceding organization. Kobe’s center aims to promote EU recognition in Japan through the Jean Monnet Programme in four areas: 1. Education of students, 2. Research, 3. Scientific collaboration, and 4. Outreach activities.

(International Affairs Planning Division)