A brief history of Kobe University 

Kobe University was founded in 1902 as Kobe Higher Commercial School. The school was renamed Kobe University of Commerce in 1929 and Kobe University of Economics in 1944, before becoming Kobe University in 1949 with the merger of Hyogo Normal School, Hyogo Junior Normal School, Kobe Technical College, Himeji High School, and Kobe University of Economics under the new post-war educational system. 

The university is one of only two in Japan with an undergraduate faculty of oceanography. Today, the university comprises 10 undergraduate faculties and 15 graduate schools.